SZ4D Structure & Governance

SZ4D Committees

An organizational structure designed to provide independent oversight of each of the components of the SZ4D effort, as well as management and coordination structures to ensure successful project execution.

White Background

Mark Behn*Boston College

Emily Brodsky* UC Santa Cruz (Chair)

Mike Brudzinski* Miami Ohio

Cailey Condit University of Washington

Eric Dunham Stanford

Noah Finnegan UC Santa Cruz

Joan Gomberg USGS

George Hilley* Stanford

Leif Karlstrom University of Oregon

Adam Kent Oregon State University

Kristin Morell UC Santa Barbara

Madison Myers Montana State University

Andy Newman Georgia Tech

Diana Roman* Carnegie

Demian Saffer UT Austin

Donna Shillington* Northern Arizona University

Doug Wiens Washington University in St. Louis

Wenlu Zhu University of Maryland

* Serve on the Executive Steering Committee

Center Steering Committee

Coordinates and oversees all SZ4D activities, charged with overseeing the general operations of SZ4D

Marble Surface

Collective Impact Committee

identify and sustain scientific priorities and broader impacts by coordinating the scientific and capacity building activities of SZ4D

Magali Billen - UC Davis

Mike Brudzinski - Miami University (Chair)

Maria Contreras - SERNAGEOMIN, Chile

Michele Cooke - University of Massachussets

Joe Dufek - University of Oregon

William Frank - MIT

Helen Janiszewski - University of Hawaii

Beth Pratt-Sitaula - UNAVCO

Philipp Ruprecht - University of Nevada Reno

Danielle Sumy - IRIS

Harold Tobin - University of Washington

Ikuko Wada - University of Minnesota

Liz Westby - USGS

Above the Clouds

Doug Wiens doug@wustl.edu
Juan-Carlos Baez jcbaez@csn.uchile.cl
Lindsay Worthington lworthington@unm.edu
Alice Gabriel algabriel@ucsd.edu
Paul Bodin bodin@uw.edu
Christine Regalla christine.regalla@nau.edu
Melodie French mefrench@rice.edu
Thorsten Becker twb@ig.utexas.edu
Stella Moreiras moreiras@mendoza-conicet.gob.ar
Andy Newman anewman@gatech.edu

Daniel Melnick daniel.melnick@uach.cl
Zack Spica zspica@umich.edu
Chad Trabant chad.trabant@iris.edu
Dave Mencin dmencin@unavco.org
Chris Crosby crosby@unavco.org

Operational Planning Committee

Oversees operational needs of SZ4D and provide scientific guidance for designing the necessary facilities

Committee on Committees

Coordinates slate of candidates for committees, ensuring diversity. The Committee on Committees is nominated by BECG and approved by the Steering Committee