top of page
Computers

INTEGRATIVE GROUP

Modeling Collaboratory for Subduction

Toward an integrative community framework for subduction zone models 

The Modeling Collaboratory for Subduction (MCS) is a community- and model-building effort to advance subduction zone science. In April 2022, the MCS and SZ4D RCNs officially joined under the overarching SZ4D umbrella, and MCS became one of the core facilities and activities of SZ4D. 

The objective of MCS is to create new kinds of physics-based models for subduction zone hazards and apply them to understand fundamental physical processes, guide instrumentation deployments, interpret observations, and assess predictability of hazards. Specifically, MCS activities are built around the following overarching objectives:

  • Construct models that link subduction zone state and long-term margin evolution to the character and predictability of event occurrence

  • Integrate observational constraints into models, while simultaneously using models to define optimal observational strategies

  • Build physics-based, predictive models for volcano, earthquake, and geomorphic systems that are spatially and temporally coupled

  • Build a diverse and equitable community of scholars who are well versed in modern modeling tools

 

The MCS group works toward addressing the science questions posed by the SZ4D working groups.

Objectives
MCS_edited.png

From the Implementation Plan

Download the MCS section of the SZ4D Implementation Plan

From the Implementation Plan

Group Members

Margarete Jadamec
University at Buffalo
mjadamec@buffalo.edu
Leif Karlstrom*
University of Oregon
leif@uoregon.edu
Shuo Ma
San Diego State University
sma@sdsu.edu
Tushar Mittal
Penn State University
tmittal@psu.edu
Marcos Moreno
Universidad de Concepcion
marcosmoreno@udec.cl
Joyce Sim
Georgia Tech
jssim@eas.gatech.edu
Daniel Trugman
University of Nevada Reno
dtrugman@unr.edu
Ikuko Wada
University of Minnesota
iwada@umn.edu
Meng Matt Wei Matt
University of Rhode Island
matt-wei@uri.edu
Penny Wieser
Berkeley
penny_wieser@berkeley.edu
Matthew Herman
California State University Bakersfield
mherman2@csub.edu
Guil Gualda
Vanderbilt
g.gualda@vanderbilt.edu
David George
University of Washington
dgeorge@uw.edu
Sean Gallen
Colorado State University
sean.gallen@colostate.edu
Alice Gabriel*
UC San Diego
algabriel@ucsd.edu
Eric Dunham
Stanford
edunham@stanford.edu
Xuesong Ding
University of Texas
xuesong.ding@beg.utexas.edu
Mark Behn*
Boston College
mark.behn@bc.edu
Page 1 of 2

Contact the MCS Group

We would love to hear from you!
Please fill out this form and we will get back to you shortly

Thanks for contacting the MCS Group

Contact the MCS group
MCS Group Members
bottom of page