top of page
Abacus

PLANNING COMMITTEE

Operational Planning Committee

Oversees operational needs of SZ4D and provide scientific guidance for designing the necessary facilities

The Operations Planning Committee (OPC) oversees SZ4D operational needs. The OPC is charged with providing scientific guidance for the design of five facilities that would support:

1. Offshore instrumentation,

2. Onshore instrumentation,

3. Field programs that require human deployment,

4. A modeling collaboratory, and

5. Experiments and sample archiving.

The OPC will work to develop the necessary proposals to support the new infrastructure. As the SZ4D facilities are created and become operational, it is expected that the OPC creates separate oversight committees for each of them. 

OPC Charge
Schematic of major instrumental arrays and activities of SZ4D. (Katy Cain/Carnegie Institution for Science)

Schematic of major instrumental arrays and activities of SZ4D. (Katy Cain/Carnegie Institution for Science)

Coordinating Array Design

One of the tasks of the OPC is to coordinate the array designs. This task requires regular meetings with the Earthscope Consortium staff who assist in budgeting and project management. As part of this process, the representatives on OPC regularly consult with Working Group and Integrative Group members to ensure sufficient technical expertise in crafting the instrumentation that will meet the scientific goals.

SZ4D Timeline

From the Implementation Plan

Learn more about the SZ4D Structure and Governance

Committee Members

Aaron Wech
OPC-A
US Geological Survey
awech@usgs.gov
Anne Soquet
OPC-I
MegaArray
Université Grenoble Alpes
anne.socquet@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr
Bertrand Potin
OPC-I
MegaArray, VolcArray
University of Chile Santiago
bertrand.potin@uchile.cl
Allan Lerner
OPC-I
VolcArray
US Geological Survey
alerner@usgs.gov
Jeff Freymueller*
OPC-I
MegaArray, VolcArray
Michigan State University
freymuel@msu.edu
Sean Gallen
OPC-I
SurfArray
Colorado State University
sean.gallen@colostate.edu
Andy Newman
OPC-I
MegaArray
Georgia Tech
anewman@gatech.edu
Christine Regalla
OPC-A
Human Dep
Northern Arizona University
christine.regalla@nau.edu
Zack Spica
OPC-I
MegaArray, VolcArray
University of Michigan
zspica@umich.edu
Chad Trabant
OPC-A
Data
EarthScope
chad.trabant@earthscope.org
Doug Wiens*
OPC-I
MegaArray
Washington U in St. Louis
doug@wustl.edu
Lindsay Worthington
OPC-I
MegaArray
University New Mexico
lworthington@unm.edu
Stella Moreiras
OPC-I and OPC-A
SurfArray, Human Dep
CONICET
moreiras@mendoza-conicet.gob.ar
Dave Mencin
OPC-A
Data
EarthScope
david.mencin@earthscope.org
Daniel Melnick
OPC-I
SurfArray, Human Dep
Universidad Austral de Chile
daniel.melnick@uach.cl
Alice Gabriel
OPC-A
Modeling
UC San Diego
algabriel@ucsd.edu
Melodie French*
OPC-A
Lab
Rice University
mefrench@rice.edu
Chris Crosby
OPC-A
SurfArray, Data
EarthScope
chris.crosby@earthscope.org
Loreto Cordova
OPC-I
VolcArray
SERNAGEOMIN
loreto.cordova@sernageomin.cl
Paul Bodin
OPC-I
MegaArray, VolcArray
University of Washington
bodin@uw.edu
Thorsten Becker
OPC-A
Modeling
UTIG Austin
twb@ig.utexas.edu
Juan-Carlos Baez
OPC-I
MegaArray, SurfArray, VolcArray
University of Chile
jcbaez@csn.uchile.cl

*Committee Co-Chairs

OPC Members

Contact the OPC

We would love to hear from you!
Please fill out this form and we will get back to you shortly

Thanks for contacting the Operations Planning Committee

Contact OPC

Explore further

bottom of page