top of page
Abacus

PLANNING COMMITTEE

Operations Planning Committees

Oversees operational needs of SZ4D and provide scientific guidance for designing the necessary facilities

The Operations Planning Committee (OPC) went through reorganization in early 2024 and now includes two committees: OPC for Activities (OPC-A) and OPC for Infrastructure (OPC-I). See below the charges for each committee.

OPC-A Charge
Schematic of major instrumental arrays and activities of SZ4D. (Katy Cain/Carnegie Institution for Science)

Schematic of major instrumental arrays and activities of SZ4D. (Katy Cain/Carnegie Institution for Science)

OPC for Activities

OPC-A is charged with oversight, coordination, and integration of activities and data to complement physical infrastructure planning. For the purpose of this charge, “activities” means field, laboratory, modeling, and imaging scientific activities.

 

The charge includes: 

  • Identify and plan for high priority experimental, field, & modeling activity needs from Implementation Plan that are not currently being addressed

  • Work with CIC and SC to identify PIs and funding sources for high priority needs

  • Respond to evolving scientific priorities of activity-focused working groups (MCS, … ) or similar groups in future center organizations.

  • Support and advise organizational SZ4D facility activity proposals during development including data management plans and non-instrumentation facility plans

  • Develop data management and sharing plans and protocols that proactively promotes data assimilation needs 

  • Support development of physical sample storage and dissemination

  • Support development of and sustained access to Cyberinfrastructure

  • Advise operations of funded organizational proposals for activities, including advising on the implementation of the data management plans 

    • This role should include a regular reporting schedule for all funded organizational collaborative activities

OPC-I

OPC for Infrastructure

From the Implementation Plan

Learn more about the SZ4D Structure and Governance

OPC-I is charged with oversight of planning for SZ4D infrastructure construction and operation, including:

  • MultiArray (Chile), 

  • Onshore/offshore domestic instrumentation,

  • Physical Infrastructure required for GeoArray,

  • Physical Infrastructure required for modeling,

  • Physical Infrastructure required for experiments and sample archiving. 

  • Physical Infrastructure required for data management

  • Other physical infrastructure identified by OPC-A or WGs. 

 

The OPC-I will support the development of SZ4D infrastructure proposals by: 

  • Making informed recommendations to proposal development teams (based on scientific guidance and technical guidance as appropriate and in reference to the Implementation Plan and Array Success Criteria) regarding: 

    • Instrument types, numbers, models, etc

    • Deployment locations (blobs-to-targets-to-dots) and modes (e.g., telemetry, power, logistics, etc)

    • Staffing requirements for infrastructure construction and operation

  • Making informed recommendations on the relative priority of competing  infrastructure needs

  • Reviewing and overseeing infrastructure proposal budgets (for completeness, bloat, accuracy)

  • Developing and implementing a change control process for MultiArray and domestic onshore/offshore deployments.

 

OPC-I will report regularly to the Steering Committee (through a co-Chair) on its activities. 

 

OPC-I will regularly coordinate with other SZ4D committees and external groups:

  • Solicit scientific guidance from WGs as a basis for recommendations to infrastructure proposal PIs and to Steering Committee

  • Solicit technical guidance from infrastructure vendors, relevant facilities (OBSIC, Earthscope, RAPID, etc), and community members with relevant expertise

  • OPC-I should also synchronize with facilities and projects related to SZ4D (Earthscope, OBSIC, CRESCENT, etc) to remain knowledgeable about and responsive to complementary infrastructure efforts.

  • OPC-I should synchronize with OPC-A to remain knowledgeable about developing data management plans and other infrastructure needed to support activities. 

Committee Members

Aaron Wech*
OPC-A
US Geological Survey
awech@usgs.gov
Anne Soquet
OPC-I
MegaArray
Université Grenoble Alpes
anne.socquet@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr
Bertrand Potin
OPC-I
MegaArray, VolcArray
University of Chile Santiago
bertrand.potin@uchile.cl
Allan Lerner
OPC-I
VolcArray
US Geological Survey
alerner@usgs.gov
Jeff Freymueller*
OPC-I
MegaArray, VolcArray
Michigan State University
freymuel@msu.edu
Sean Gallen
OPC-I
SurfArray
Colorado State University
sean.gallen@colostate.edu
Andy Newman
OPC-I
MegaArray
Georgia Tech
anewman@gatech.edu
Christine Regalla
OPC-A
Human Dep
Northern Arizona University
christine.regalla@nau.edu
Zack Spica
OPC-I
MegaArray, VolcArray
University of Michigan
zspica@umich.edu
Chad Trabant
OPC-A
Data
EarthScope
chad.trabant@earthscope.org
Doug Wiens*
OPC-I
MegaArray
Washington U in St. Louis
doug@wustl.edu
Lindsay Worthington
OPC-I
MegaArray
University New Mexico
lworthington@unm.edu
Stella Moreiras
OPC-I and OPC-A
SurfArray, Human Dep
CONICET
moreiras@mendoza-conicet.gob.ar
Dave Mencin
OPC-A
Data
EarthScope
david.mencin@earthscope.org
Daniel Melnick
OPC-I
SurfArray, Human Dep
Universidad Austral de Chile
daniel.melnick@uach.cl
Alice Gabriel
OPC-A
Modeling
UC San Diego
algabriel@ucsd.edu
Melodie French*
OPC-A
Lab
Rice University
mefrench@rice.edu
Chris Crosby
OPC-A
SurfArray, Data
EarthScope
chris.crosby@earthscope.org
Loreto Cordova
OPC-I
VolcArray
SERNAGEOMIN
loreto.cordova@sernageomin.cl
Paul Bodin
OPC-I
MegaArray, VolcArray
University of Washington
bodin@uw.edu
Thorsten Becker
OPC-A
Modeling
UTIG Austin
twb@ig.utexas.edu
Juan-Carlos Baez
OPC-I
MegaArray, SurfArray, VolcArray
University of Chile
jcbaez@csn.uchile.cl

*Committee Co-Chairs

Contact the OPCs

We would love to hear from you!
Please fill out this form and we will get back to you shortly

I have a question for

Thanks for contacting the Operations Planning Committees

Explore further

bottom of page